Section 2: Sign Permit ApplicationAnchor: #i999877
The Form ROW-OA-4, Permit Application for Outdoor Advertising Sign on an Interstate or Primary Highway, must:
- Anchor: #ELKQCKUL
- be completed in the exact name shown on the Outdoor Advertising License; Anchor: #YTPDPNJK
- clearly show the proposed location and description of the sign and all other items required by the application; Anchor: #JSMFEPBR
- provide verification of the applicant's nonprofit status, if the sign is a nonprofit sign; Anchor: #RAEXNCIN
- must have a notarized signature of each individual applicant or a corporate officer if the applicant is a corporation or the managing partner if the applicant is a limited partnership; and Anchor: #EHPBJUSQ
- be accompanied by a nonrefundable permit fee of $100.00 made payable to TxDOT Outdoor Advertising. The permit fee for a sign already in existence along a road, which is now subject to regulation under the Transportation Code, Chapter 391, is $100.00. Anchor: #CXFLJKYH
- The submission for a permit application and the fee must be mailed to the Texas Department of Transportation, ROW Division, P.O. Box 13043, Austin, Texas 78711-3043.
If the check or money order submitted in payment of the sign permits is dishonored upon presentment by TxDOT, the permit will be canceled as of the date of receipt of payment.Anchor: #i999926
Applicant’s Identification of Proposed Site
The applicant must identify the proposed location for a new sign by setting a stake or marking the concrete at the proposed location of the edge of the sign structure, including the sign face that is nearest to the right of way. At least two feet of the stake must be visible above the ground. Identifying the site is considered part of the application, and the stake or mark on the concrete must not be moved or removed until the application is denied, or if approved, until the sign has been erected.Anchor: #i999936
Permission from Property Owner
No permit may be approved unless the applicant has obtained written permission from the owner of the designated site. TxDOT provides a space on the permit application for the site owner's signature. Alternatively, the applicant may provide (1) a copy of the written lease for the site or (2) a consent statement in a form prescribed by TxDOT . The signature must be the signature of the property owner or the owner's duly authorized representative. The owner's permission operates as permission for the life of the permit, unless the owner provides a written statement that permission for the maintenance of the sign has been withdrawn and documentation showing that the lease allowing the sign has been terminated in accordance with the terms of the lease agreement or through a court order. If the sign owner disputes the lease termination in court with the site owner, TxDOT will not cancel the permit until a court order is provided or a settlement signed by both parties is delivered to the department.Anchor: #i999946
Inspecting the sign site prior to approving a permit is the responsibility of the ROW Division outdoor advertising field compliance staff. The ROW Division outdoor advertising field compliance staff will complete a field inspection log citing their findings and decisions.
Permits cannot be approved for new signs unless those signs will conform to the current authorized standards and criteria, including location, size, lighting and spacing.Anchor: #i999981
When the application for a permit is approved, the Form ROW-OA-4, Permit Application for Outdoor Advertising Sign , will be executed in duplicate by the ROW Division Director or an authorized representative. The original will be retained on file in the ROW Division and the copy will be returned to the applicant accompanied by a Texas Sign Permit Plate. The permit plates are numbered consecutively. The plate number is to be printed in the upper right corner of page one of the Form ROW-OA-4, Permit Application for Outdoor Advertising Sign.
The permit plate is to be securely attached to the sign structure that is nearest to and visible from the closest right of way. The owner or owner's representative must attach the permit plate within 30 days after the erection of the sign or within 30 days after issuance of the permit for existing signs. The sign permit plate may not be removed from the sign and must remain visible and legible.