Chapter 4: Field Inspection Requirements


Section 1: Types of Bridge Inspection

There are five basic types of bridge inspections:

  • Initial inspections.
  • Routine inspections.
  • Event-driven inspections (AASHTO damage inspections).
  • In-depth inspections.
    • Underwater inspections and fracture-critical inspections are two types of in-depth inspections.
  • Special inspections.
    • Inspection of post-tensioned, grouted, external tendons is an example of a special inspection.

Previous page  Next page   Title page